Cherrytree Records

Your Pop Alternative Source

Cherrytree Records/Interscope Signs Chart-Topping Norwegian Electronic Duo Röyksopp, Label Releases New Single "Running To The Sea"



November 25, 2013 — Santa Monica, CA —Cherrytree Records/Interscope is pleased to announce that it has signed Norwegian electronic artists Röyksopp and will release the duo’s recent Norwegian No. 1 single, “Running To The Sea,” today.  


Svein Berge and Torbjørn Brundtland formed Röyksopp in 1998 and went on to release four albums, 2001’s Melody A.M., 2005’s The Understanding (which hit No. 1 on the Electronic Albums chart in the U.S.), 2009’s Junior (which hit No. 4 on the same chart), and 2010’s Senior, each of which went to No. 1 in their native Norway and scaled the charts in several countries. The duo has sold more than two million albums worldwide, earned Grammy and BRIT award nominations, and scored three entries on Pitchfork’s list of the Top 500 tracks of the last decade. Additionally, the duo has created popular remixes for such best-selling artists as Lady Gaga, Depeche Mode, Beck, and Kings of Leon, and written music for popular Scandinavian vocalists Robyn, Lykke Li, and Karin Dreijer-Andersson (Fever Ray / The Knife). 


Röyksopp will release their first single since 2011, the epic, sweeping “Running To The Sea” (featuring vocals by platinum-selling Norwegian artist Susanne Sundfør), on their label Dog Triumph through Cherrytree Records/Interscope, in two bundled configurations. A two-track bundle that includes “Running To The Sea” and another new track, “Something In My Heart” (featuring Jamie McDermott from London orchestral ensemble The Impressibles), will be sold through all digital retailers except Beatport.   


“’Running To The Sea’ and ‘Something In My Heart’ are in essence both expressions of compulsion and its strong, often uncontrollable, persisting pull,” say the duo. “Dependence is a returning theme in our music.” 


Prior to the worldwide release of “Running To The Sea” on November 25th, Beatport will offer an exclusive seven-track remix bundle for two weeks beginning November 22nd, featuring remixes by Pachanga Boys, Villa, LNTG, Man Without Country, DJ HMC, Magnus & Timon, and Seven Lions.

Click here to get "Running To The Sea" on iTunes.



For more about Röyksopp, visit:

Views: 118


You need to be a member of Cherrytree Records to add comments!

Join Cherrytree Records

Cherrytree Chat

Cherrytree Merchandise

© 2014   Created by Cherrytree.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service