Cherrytree Records

Your Pop Alternative Source

Cherrytree/Interscope Recording Artist La Roux Announces Trouble In Paradise

Cherrytree/Interscope Recording Artist La Roux Announces Trouble In Paradise
Set To Hit July 8

Add A Williamsburg Music Hall Date, June 11!

 La Roux will make her eagerly-awaited return with the release of Trouble In Paradise set to hit July 8th viaCherrytree/Interscope Records. The new album features nine tracks written, co-produced (alongside Ian Sherwin) and largely played by multi-instrumentalist and vocalist Elly Jackson with two special guest features from Chilly Gonzales. “Trouble In Paradise” is the follow-up to La Roux’s Grammy-winning eponymous debut, which sold over two million copies worldwide and saw over six million in single sales.

La Roux (Cherrytree/Interscope Records) blew up internationally, going platinum and gold in multiple countries. Stateside, multi-platinum hit single “Bulletproof” soared up the Billboard Hot 100 charts making its way to the Top Tenwhere it stayed for weeks. The debut release also garnered a GRAMMY for Best Electronic/Dance Album amongst other illustrious honors including nominations for a Mercury Prize, MTV Europe Award, MTV Woodie and two Brit Awards.

Album opener “Uptight Downtown” is a perfect mix of the strong & sexy sound that defines this album, merging seamlessly with the La Roux we fell madly in love with.  The track is equal parts epic sing-along, racing heartbeats and dance-party, a definite summer anthem. “Sexotheque,” inspired by the red-light district in Montreal, is shocking in the most beautifully tragic way. The track weaves an explosive soundscape that melds pulsing melodic beats with Elly’s crystal clear vocals, all the while telling the lurid tale of a relationship ruined by a man who can’t stay away from the strip club. Teaser track “Let Me Down Gently” (available immediately with album pre-order) is heart-on-sleeve and raw, laying out fears, truth and insecurity. “I hope it doesn’t seem like I’m young, foolish and green. Let me in for a minute, you’re not my life - but I want you in it.” Sonically it builds from a haunting ethereal start to a stunning, intricately layered powerhouse.

Trouble In Paradise will be available for pre-order tomorrow.

“Trouble In Paradise” tracklist:

1. Uptight Downtown

2. Kiss and Not Tell

3. Cruel Sexuality

4. Paradise Is You

5. Sexotheque

6. Tropical Chancer

7. Silent Partner

8. Let Me Down Gently

9. The Feeling


Don’t miss your chance to see La Roux perform new music live this summer!:

**Support for New Order

* New date, tickets on sale Friday May 16th via Ticketmaster

6/1/2014              Toronto, Ontario              Danforth Music Hall

6/2/2014              Montreal, Quebec           Metropolis

6/3/2014              Boston, MA                        Paradise Rock Club

6/6/2014              New York, NY                    Governors Ball Music Festival

6/7/2014              Philadelphia, PA               Trocadero Theatre

6/8/2014              Washington, DC                9:30 Club

6/11/2014            Brooklyn, NY                      Music Hall Of Williamsburg*

7/11/2014            San Francisco, CA             Bill Graham Civic Auditorium**

7/12/2014            San Diego, CA                    House of Blues

7/13/2014            Los Angeles, CA                                Greek Theatre**

Views: 524


You need to be a member of Cherrytree Records to add comments!

Join Cherrytree Records


Cherrytree Chat

Cherrytree Merchandise

© 2015   Created by Cherrytree.

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service